Raise the awareness of plastic recycling

Ocean Protection Storytelling Project

Increase awareness for waste management principle

Marine litter is a global challenge. Therefore, Covestro Taiwan, announced its partnership with all the national parks and 5 national museums in Taiwan, including National Museums of Marine Biology and Aquarium, National Museum of Marine Science and Technology, National Taiwan Science Education Center, National Museum of Nature Science and National Science and Technology Museum as to engage in an environmental education campaign to battle the problem of plastics in the ocean.

Together, these organizations will embark on a storytelling project using the Covestro copyrighted “Bright Minds for a Brighter World” Chinese-English bilingual picture book on various elementary and kindergartens. They will also deliver the picture books to schools mainly along the coast where the problem of marine litter is most obvious, from the north to the south of Taiwan. It is expected to raise our children’s awareness of waste management and prevent littering behaviors.

The book “Bright Minds for a Brighter World” tells the story of three Earth guardians with superpowers set out on a search for the root cause of marine litter after they find a sea turtle with a plastic straw stuck in her nose. They find that the source of ocean trash is human’s improper waste disposal and lack of environmental awareness. The story ends with an illustration of correct ways to dispose of waste, including classification knowledge as well as recycling, reducing and re-using technologies. Children are also encouraged to write down their commitments to the planet through interactive activities.

The picture book has been adapted from an initial version that Covestro Thailand developed with local organizations and has received endorsement from various Taiwan governmental bodies, such as the Minister of Education, Minister of the Environmental Protection Administration and Director General of the Forestry Bureau, the central conservation authority of Taiwan.

In addition to providing each child with a bilingual Chinese and English storybook, Covestro and the five national museums will also provide a Thai version of the storybook published by Covestro Thailand to educate school children from the Thai community. The books will be used alongside the Thai language program which many schools have implemented for these children.

Environmental education with a digital and interactive way

To echo with 2019 World Ocean Day on June 8th, Covestro Taiwan announced the launch of the free app: “Bright Minds for a Brighter World: The Adventures of Young Guardians”, which is available in the Apple App Store and Google Play Store. With a light-hearted, fun story and a range of activities, the app is aimed at encouraging children to develop a responsible attitude to waste and opening their eyes to a problem: how plastic waste ends up in the oceans via waterways.

The “Bright Minds for a Brighter World” story app can be downloaded from both the Apple Store and Play Store for free. The story is narrated by popular musical actors, including Katie Partlow and Henry Hsueh-Han Lu. Kids who write down their commitment and color the earth will also have a chance to receive a special prize. Kids can also record and share their own version of the story with their friends to show them how they can look after the environment as well. The app also provides immersion reading features for kids so that they can pick up new words with ease.

Apple App Store:https://apple.co/2NhXjf7

Google Play Store:https://bit.ly/2LmDReM

The pictures and stories in the app were developed based on the storybook “Bright Minds for a Brighter World: The Adventures of Young Guardians” (copyright© 2016 by Covestro (Thailand) Co., Ltd.). Covestro Taiwan also thanks Rumu Innovation Co. Ltd. for helping the company to develop the app.

The Chinese and English bilingual storybook of “Brighter Minds for a Brighter World" can be downloaded here.

And the Thai and English bilingual version from Covestro Thailand can be downloaded here.

提高塑料回收意識
無塑海洋故事計畫

共同提升廢棄物管理原則的正確意識

海洋垃圾是一個迫在眉睫的全球議題。有鑑於此,台灣科思創攜手全台國家公園及五大博物館:屏東海生館、基隆海科館、台中科博館、台北科教館與高雄科工館合作,從環境教育著手來共同對抗塑料流入海洋的問題,並運用科思創版權所有的「用愛讓世界更精彩」中英雙語繪本,推廣至北、中、南以濱海學校為主的小學與幼稚園學童手中,因為那也是海邊垃圾最明顯的地方,並期待能藉此提升學童在廢棄物管理的正確意識,預防不當的垃圾丟棄行為。

「用愛讓世界更精彩」故事內容是敘述三位具有超能力的小小地球守護者,在意外發現海龜媽媽的鼻子被吸管卡住後,為了探索原因,開始在海上展開一連串的奇幻冒險旅程,並發現原來海洋垃圾的問題源頭,正來自人們對垃圾的管理不當及缺乏環保意識。故事末除了帶出正確的垃圾分類知識外,並導引學童思考怎麼樣運用回收、減量與再使用來幫助我們的地球,並藉由繪本上的互動頁面,鼓勵孩子寫下對地球的承諾。

此雙語繪本改編自泰國科思創與當地機構的原創版本,在台灣亦獲得相關部會包括了教育部、環保署與林務局的認可,並在書中獲得各部會首長的推薦文。

同時,考量到不少學校亦有來自泰國新住民的孩子並設有新住民語文課程,台灣科思創在與五大博物館攜手前進學校說故事時,除了每位小朋友皆可獲得一本中英雙語實體繪本外,也將提供每所學校一本泰國科思創出版的泰語繪本。

更具數位化、互動式的環境教育

呼應2019世界海洋日主題:「塑料污染危機」,台灣科思創宣布於Apple App Store 與Google Play Store推出免費下載的中英雙語「用愛讓世界更精彩:小小地球守護者的奇幻冒險」環境教育app。此項計畫為無塑海洋故事教育專案的延伸,透過互動功能設計讓孩子參與故事情境,引領孩子注意垃圾對海洋環境所會產生的破壞性影響,再透過遊戲與活動鼓勵孩子養成對垃圾負責的態度,並了解塑膠垃圾會如何透過水道流入海洋。

該免費app由包含卜凱蒂及呂學涵等知名英語舞台劇演員為聲音擔綱演出。此外藉由讓孩子參與其中的互動方式,引領孩子關注海洋垃圾所會帶來的破壞性影響,並期待透過有趣的活動,如:與故事主角共同拯救被塑膠垃圾纏住的海洋生物,及將垃圾與正確垃圾桶配對的小遊戲,鼓勵孩子透過行動共同來守護我們的海洋。孩子們還可以錄製和分享專屬於自己的環境故事。該應用程式還提供浸潤式閱讀功能,讓孩子們輕鬆學習新字詞。

Apple App Store:https://apple.co/2NhXjf7

Google Play Store:https://bit.ly/2LmDReM

此app的圖文源自2016泰國科思創版權所有的同名繪本。台灣科思創也特別感謝如牧創新有限公司接受科思創的委託進行app開發。

「用愛讓世界更精彩」中英雙語繪本電子版,可由此下載

由泰國科思創出版的泰英雙語繪本,可由此下載